My Tractor Forum banner

Deere 2320 - Need To Spread Top Soil (3/4 Acre)

8400 Views 13 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  smoknz28
I'm still new to the tractor world....and own a Deere 2320 CUT.

I have about 3/4-1 acre of land that I want to spread topsoil over and would like to know recommendations from those of you who have been there and done that.

Thank you.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
that's a lot of dirt! you have a loader, that's what you'll want to do the initial spreading with, then if you have a back blade, box blade, or some similar implement that will be your finishing tool. It'll take a little time to figure out the best method, but you'll have a couple days to fine tune. Have fun!
See less See more
Shack, thank you for the response....maybe I got a bit confused here with what I actually want to achieve.

I already have grass planted so what I'm actually wanting to do is over seed. I want to cover up the seed to help with the growth of the seeds.

Maybe composte will be better... Got to looking at the price of topsoil and whew...that's expensive! Eeeesh...
See less See more
Got to looking at spreaders...but think that a spreader will get clogged with compost, but I've never attempted it...so don't know. Also thought about a manure spreader....but good golly miss molly! $2k is definitely out of reach for me....even at $1k.

Do I just get the compost delivered and then spread it with a box blade or another attachment? Box blade may damage my current grass though....??

Thanks again all.
See less See more
oh, that does change my understanding. If you loosened the soil before the seed went down then a roller to help press the seed in, then spread wheat straw over it all. There really isn't an easy way to do it if you are seeding bare ground. If there is already a stand of grass and you are just trying to thicken it up then just spread the seed and fertilizer and water, water, water.
See less See more