My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,995 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been using my Cyclone Rake for several years and have been so impressed with it that I bought a second one for my son for leaf cleanup. I’ve had some issues with plugging the grill in the exhaust on top with mud when things were Very Wet reducing the suction.

Last week, I tried out my custom dethatcher with it on a widow’s 2+ acres. The grill kept plugging within 1 round (1/3-1/2 full).
Plant Sky Green Natural environment Tree

I have an idea to try that I tried on my custom lawn vac that solved this, but I thought I’d see if anyone else has had this / these issues and what you may have tried.

Bob

·
Registered
4,812 Posts
My CR is also about 5 years old now, the absolute best yard clean up equipment I ever had.

Like you, VERY muddy and wet (when its raining fairly hard) leaves or grass mowing in the rain, can cause the screen to clog, but I just stop and used the little toilet brush they give you, to clean it so I can get a full bin load before unloading. In any kind of non raining situation, the problem does not exist for me.

I've found that instead of "brushing" the screen, I use the brush in a "hammering" stroke from the outside of the screen, where the brush bristles are going through the screen to dislodge the stuck materials. Seems to work well.

I know most models have a screen that either unzips or is secured by Velcro to allow removal for cleaning or replacement. Check carefully on your particular bin. Not sure if CR sells a coarser screen or not, but if this is a real problem, maybe craft a coarser DIY screen of your own?

In any case, the CR is still the best investment I've made in lawn clean up period.

·
Kioti SCUT
965 Posts
I've been considering a CR for annual leaf cleanup. But I want to continue using my triple-bagger on my YT mower the rest of the year.