My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Lifetime Lawn Guy
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm somewhat salty on small engine repair, but when it comes down to major overhauls or specifically diagnosing specific issues I'm a bit of a noob.

I have a F-100, my mechanics book says "minimum compression" should be 90 psi. I checked it last night and only get about 45 on my guage. :(

The piston dosn't appear to be scored much from what I can see thru the exhaust ports, I just haven't cracked it all the way apart as I don't have parts yet anyway. On 2 strokes are the rings, piston, cylinder about the only factor in compression?

I got the mower from a yard sale, never put fuel in it, it needed attention before it could be ran. The engine spins fine, dosn't feel rough or like it had been partly seized at any time. Pretty tight on the crankshaft end play top and bottom. I just don't want to bother putting it all back together and making it nice if it's going to have no power in the end...

Secondary question: Do you guys that rebuild engines use any sort of piston stop in the spark plug hole when reassembling, or do you just be really careful to not slide the piston in to far? I haven't been able to locate one of the "special tools" that LB has, or just make something of my own?

·
nothing of interest
1,025 Posts
Put the piston in the jug shallow, put the rod on the crank shaft, that way the piston can't go into the cylinder too deep. Push the piston the rest of the way in.
I got one started on 62 pounds.
Ron

·
Lifetime Lawn Guy
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok, thanks. I was thinking stuck, or at least hoping that was the only issue (still hoping) but it will get new rings either way. Since it hasn't been ran in who knows how many years the rings may have stuck just from lack of use or lubrication in the cylinder.