My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This will be my first small tractor and I want to get it running as good as I can. I am an auto tech but have little experience with small tractors.
Anyway, this 446 was bought new by my brothers wife's grandpa and when he passed on it was also passed on.
My brother added a small amount of hydraulic fluid and after some reading I understand this is the wrong fluid. So I am searching for a manual. I also need some headlights and a new seat and a battery. It came with the tiller and the mowing deck. I am going to try and find a snowblower.
It has a newer Onan engine as grandpa replaced the original.
This is going to be a great winter project as the tractor seems very solid.
I will post some pics later.

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The serial on my tractor is 9771215 so I think it is a '79 or '80.
The hood has peeled paint as the muffler was/is leaking. So I am going to spray the hood and fenders and try and find some new decals.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Nice score! I'll pass on what was passed on to me regarding the peeling, first check the muffler for ANY leaks and repair/rebuild as necessary. Then double check for a lean condition and adjust carb as required. This should prevent your new decals from peeling. You can download some of the parts manuals in the stickies above and for a copy of the correct operators manual contact Bhildret at Salem Power on this forum. With the help of the members on this forum (and plenty of parts from Brian) I was able to get my units running just ticketeeboo!

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
Definitely welcome to the forum and the Case family ricoh.
I've got the Operators Manual for your tractor in a pdf file I can send you and lots of the other manuals are available too. The parts manuals can be downloaded at Eastman's site and are very helpful. http://eastmanind.com.mytempweb.com/INGERSOLL/IngersollAttachments/tabid/196/Default.aspx