My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wandering if anyone has any spare parts for this style planter? Also if any other planter plates, or parts that may work in this planter instead of just a Burch plate's.

I have a Corn plate now and planted a 50lb bag of corn seed last year. From what I was told a bag should normally go about 3.5-4 acres? Well I put that bag in almost 2 acres of dirt. I'm new to planting and seeking out advice on what I can possibly change to help the bag of corn stretch to as much dirt as possible. Also this is just for Food plots.

Thanks for the Help.

·
Registered
753 Posts
the burch planter has been around for a long time

here is a video I posted a few years back

burch still has some plates available for this planter, but to be honest I have sold them plates in the past

to my knowledge there are no other seed plates that will work with this unit

they made seed plates that will plant most anything

corn is sold in bags of 80000 kernels , and here in KY most corn is planted in the 32000 plant population area, this will let you get 2.5 acres per bag

here is a photo of the row spacing and population guide from a Burch manual

here is the plate list

the complete manual is available as photos from my photo bucket page at this location
Larry Lile's Library | Photobucket

I have several plates left , but the corn plates are made in 3 sizes , small med, large, and two types round and flat, so you have to match your plate to the corn you are using, it is not like most of the later type planters that give you a plate number that you match to the kernel size marked on the bags . then you get the appropriate plastic plate, a lot of seed company's anymore do not size there seed since most major operations have gone to air planters

I also have soybean plates and milo plates, notice photo in video of barn wall with all the plates

I use one of these every year, for decades, and will help if I can

·