My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Full Disclosure: I'm new to fixing things and engines in general. Bear with me.
(if you don't feel like reading skip to last paragraph)

Let me try and give you the situational breakdown quickly, lets get you up to speed. The case gasket began leaking oil so I decided to try and fix it myself. I took apart everything which i saw as getting in the way of me separating the case. I got pull it apart and... I can't do it for the life of me. This is as far as I can get:

As you can see it's about an inch and that's it, it stops. I assume the crankshaft or some gears are getting in the way of me lifting it off. Great. So in my frustration I figured, screw it. I'll working within that inch of space, get the old gasket out, slap in some rtv and call it a day. I put everything back together and thought I had beaten the system. I go to start the mower and it just turns and turns. Nothing!

:banghead3

So as it turns out, when I decided to just slap everything together I messed up the timing... Something I didn't know existed before I started my little project. So I'm back to square one.

So in short, How do I get this case off and separated from the bottom half? and when and if I do so, how do I put this thing together so it's timed and starts correctly?

:fing20: Give it to me straight!

Engine: B&S 445777 0168 E1
Full Picture:

·
Premium Member
5,747 Posts
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you'll have to remove the engine from the machine and remove the pulley(s) or clutch from the crankshaft. It is not necessary to use RTV on that gasket. Now, you can work on the engine upside down and re-establish the timing. Lubricate the oil seal and very carefully manuever it over the shoulder on the crankshaft when you reassemble it and you should be OK.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·