My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at a new mower but all I can get is a BS professional series engine or a Kolher Courage. Its a Simplicity Conquest. What a huge let down for me. I know the courage does not have the best name and I am unsure about the BSPS engine. This is a top shelf Simplicity mower and I cant believe they dont offer a Vanguard or Kohler Command. What is up with that?

I have a older Simplicity mower now with a Vanguard and the engine has been perfect over a decade and a half. We just need a bigger mower now and I want a top shelf engine to go with it. Does anybody know anything about the BSPS engines and how do they compare to the older Vanguards? I am no mechanic but I know the service my Vanguard has given me in my Broadmoore has been excellent.

I really really like Simplicity equipment and they have been in my family since 1966 but if they are going to cheap out on the engines I may have to start looking elsewhere. This just breaks my heart. I may be fearful of something I know nothing about so that is why I am posting. Maybe there is a mechanic on here that knows something about these engines. We all get afraid of change though sometimes its for the good. Thanks for any advice.

·
Senior MTF Poster
13,267 Posts
One thing I know, NEVER pay any attention to "professional", "Industrial", "Extended Service", all of these are just sales junk. What is the MODEL number of the engine? Anyway, the Kohler Courage is not going to be any better than whatever B&S engine that shakes out to be, probably both "entry" level engines.

Walt Conner

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·