My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to this great forum. I have a 1957 Ford model 640 that had been sitting idle in the woods for about 2 years probably. My neighbor gave up on it after it didn't run right for him and just gave it to me. I towed it into my shop and got it running again this winter but the hydraulics wouldn't lift @ all.

The good news is that so far it has survived the neglect pretty well: the previous owner replaced fluids regularly and there don't seem to be bits out of place or broken or outstanding water or rust issues when I take things apart.

My "restoration" technique so far has been to basically take things apart until I really get a good look at them and figure out if they're servicable or not. This worked fine for the engine which is simple compared to the hydraulics IMO.

I have the FO-20 manual as well as the owner's manual but I still have to take things apart to understand them because the manuals are a bit short on words if you've never owned a tractor before and don't know where some of the relevant parts are or how they work.

This tractor is equipped with an aftermarket single-lever valve on top of the hydro cover that controlled a single piston top-link arm if I'm using terms correctly. This arm did not move nor did the main lifting arms when I tried either lever with the engine running.