My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am in the process of moving into a new house and finally have the 318 I got over the summer. Included in the laundry list of things i have to do is to perform some baseline maintenance on the 318.

I have looked at the Baseline Maintenance Checklist and while I would like to perform all the tasks there, I just dont have the time nor the knowledge at this point. That said, I DO want to do a few maintenance items, but need to stick to the most important.

SOOO, what say you? What are the most important (and hopefully easy to do for a COMPLETE newbie) tasks that I should complete. I have a 318, 54 2 way blade, and 49 blower.

Thank you all!

Oh, and I picked up a model 80 cart a few weeks ago. I know this is probably a silly question, but how do I hook up the 80 to the 318, their hitches dont seem to be compatable.

Finally, is this blade ready to go? Can you tell from the picture?

·
Certified Master Tinkerer
3,045 Posts
The blade looks pretty good but I'll leave the final determination to the experts since I'm a knuckle dragging 200 series owner. You'll need an adapter for the sleeve hitch that has a flange to mate up to the Model 80. For maintenance I'd start with the basics of plugs, oil and filters.

·
Premium Member
9,801 Posts
Ok, easy things first. The 318 has a receiver hitch bolted onto the drawbar. Just remove that and you can pin the Model 80 cart right on. EDIT - The receiver hitch looks like it might be welded on, so you'll need an adapter.

For maintenance, change the oil and oil filter, air filter and prefilter.

Grease all the zerk fittings you can find.

At least check the level of the transmission fluid in the sight tube over the draw bar behind the right rear wheel (should be half way up the clear tube when cold). Top up if necessary. Eventually when you get ambitious you should change the transmission fluid and fliter.