My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Working to a 1K post
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I've tried the JB Weld thing on my key way dilemma, but it did not hold the
first go round.... So I'm going to try it again....

I done a little drawing on my computer so everyone can have a look see at
what I'm dealing with and maybe give some other advice on how to fix it
(mind you I would like to do this without Rob really helping unless he really has
to.... Mind you I'm not very good at welding yet.)

Here's the funny little drawing that I done!!!

Ok any suggestion on fixing this??? Right now I've tried JB weld yet again,
only this time with a bit more hardner (ok twice as much as the liquid steel)
and I put Rob's heat lamp on it to aid in drying.... But my thought is not to be
expecting this to hold.

This is as of right now the ONLY thing holding me back on this tractor, I got a
new brake band yesterday and installed it, got the engine running good
thanks to Rob setting the carb and all the parts that he has!!!!

I've never torn an axle apart and really don't think that I'm even ready for
that yet....

Ok enough of my rambling....

Merrie​
Merrie​

·
Premium Member
9,669 Posts
I don't think JB will work for this. While on my quest for pullies, I found one that might work, only the key way is twice the size as the shaft key way. The guy I was talking with said "no problem" we have "steped Keys". Basicly a key one size for the shaft and a different size for the pully. I am wondering id some creative grinding on some small stock to shape a larger key in the "keystone" shape, and the wheel key slot shape?

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
I think you should take the axle shaft out and have a machinist fix it properly, and provide you a stepped key as Larry mentioned.

·
Premium Member
3,839 Posts