My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
954 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been looking through my X748 manual and can’t find the answer to this question. Does the rear PTO always turn at 540 regardless of engine RPMs, or does a 540 RPM PTO mean you have to be at WOT to get there?

·
Registered
105 Posts
I don't know anything about X748s, but I can't imagine how JD would make a constant RPM PTO. So I'd bet it changes with engine RPM and needs to be WOT to run at 540.

Can you find someone to operate your tractor with something attached to the PTO and run it without a load? (Tiller lifted for example) Just watch while someone runs the throttle up and down and observe the speed of the attachment.

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
Same as Leaon, I have no experience with x748s, but I have run a couple of New Hollands with hydrostatic trannies.

NH has a dandy little 540 RPM indicator lamp when the PTO is engaged. Also has an overspeed indicator lamp. 540 RPM on those TCs occurred well below WOT.

·
Premium Member
954 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I'm pretty sure it is 540 at WOT. Didn't think about a non-contact tach. Thanks Harry. :fing32:

·
Registered
718 Posts
Dont have my X yet but the JD 4410 tach shows a 540PTO icon at about the 2200 spot.

·
Likes Vintage JDs
9,875 Posts
Roy, I thought I remembered that there was a "PTO" indicator on the throttle. No?

Anyway, it definitely doesn't run at 540 regardless of engine speed. It should take the same (or nearly the same) engine rpm as for the mid/front pto. If there's no indicator on the throttle scale, then WOT is probably the answer.

·
Registered
464 Posts
Yeah, I'm pretty sure it is 540 at WOT. Didn't think about a non-contact tach. Thanks Harry. :fing32:
Roy,

You just answered your own question.

Jerry

·
Premium Member
954 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Roy, I thought I remembered that there was a "PTO" indicator on the throttle. No? . . . .