My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last week I found someone giving this mower away for free. One of the cables needs replacing, but other than that it starts easy, runs, and cuts. It has a functioning bag but not a mulching plug - just a rear cover. No side discharge cover but I rarely use side discharging.

It's an older Ariens 3-N-1 self propelled lawnmower, and it has a Kawasaki engine. I know Ariens is very well known for snowblowers but was not sure about the lawnmower side - is anyone familiar with this particular style mower or engine?

·
Registered
88 Posts
Pretty sure at least 1 or 2 of the folks here know something about the Kawi engine, at least. No experience myself.

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
I have little experience with the Kawi but those mowers are legendary baggers. With a good blade the lawn will be CLEAN! The drive system is simple and reliable but tends to slip when wet.

·
Premium Member
3,481 Posts
I used machines like that (that style Kaw engine with the integrated gas tank, then the later models with the tank bolted to the back of the engine).

They work really well, cables fail regularly for me (but I use it commercially), as well as the idler used for the drive setup (flip the mower on the side [oil fill cap down, gas cap side up], reach inside the center housing on the bottom of the mower, move the idler away from the belt and give it a spin, you'll find it probably needs replacing...).

The throttle cable in particular can cause problems over time, as it will stretch, and not pull the lever on the motor quite far enough, and the kill switch on that lever doesn't disengage, and then you'll have problems starting the motor and it won't be obvious that's the problem. I've fabbed up adjustable mounts for the handlebar end of that cable, so I can take up that slack and put off buying a new cable (as otherwise the cable is fine).