My Tractor Forum banner

Are 2 stage hydraulic pumps good

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  TUDOR 
#1 ·
I'm working on a homemade tractor with a Sauer Sundstrand series 42 hydraulic pump (42R41D). I need that pump to work the four hydraulic wheel motors, the two steering pistons, and the bucket controls. It has the capability to install a gear pump the the front. A Williams 050405 (can't seem to find any info online).
Would it be worth it to install the second pump?
Would the two pumps be connected in series or in parallel?
How would I connect them?
I'm a novice at hydraulics so any help will be appreciated!

#3 ·
As applied to log splitter pumps, two stage is a misnomer that is in common use. The pumps are properly called double or tandem pumps with one being larger for more flow and that is unloaded at a specific pressure while the second, smaller pump continues to work at increased pressures so that a smaller primary mover (engine) can be used with little loss of total speed.

For an actual two stage pump, the first stage pump feeds the second stage pump so that output pressure can be increased with less heat generation.and limited loss of flow. The flow rate is nominally the same as with only the first stage, but the pressure (and horsepower needed) is increased to match the requirement for the final relief pressure and flow rate.

Welcome to MTF, SethJohn.

To your questions, the Series 42 pump is for your drive motors only. Hydrostatic drives work as a closed loop system with a charge pump that replenishes any fluid lost through normal clearances. Additional hydraulics (steering, bucket lift, etc) will be better served with an auxiliary pump for open center hydraulic systems. The only common ground for the two systems is the reservoir..