My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:banghead3 :crybaby: Ok iI guess I'm not the machanic I thought I was.(but I'm really a machinist so that's ok)I had it in my head that the K-series fired on every other rev.sence it runs the points off the cam.
So I bought a ENM Tach/Hr meter # LCD8010 for $25.But it doesn't read right.It is for everother rev firing.I'm guessing that the K-series fires different to that?
I know Tiny Tach has one just for K-series (I guess that should have been a hint:banghead3 )but they are a few more $'s Has anyone been down this road?
I think this one might work on some of the antique tractors we pull and if that is the case it wasn't waisted money.:thanku:

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
Terry,

I believe you are correct but I'm not very familiar with the Kohlers. You should go to the "sharing small engine secrets" yahoo site or the Kohler site where there are a lot of engine experts who can answer this definitively.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
:thanku: Thanks Bart,
This is one of those deals I was trying to save 10 bucks by going with the ENM when I know that TIny/Tach hadone for the K-Series Kohler.But I would like to know why lust because.:thanku:

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Well, the Ks are four cycle, so they to 'fire' every other revolution. But, if it is a two cylinder K, like a K532, KT17 etc, the term 'fire' is very misleading. While the cylinder only makes power when the spark comes on the compression stroke, there is a 'wasted spark' on the exhaust stroke (true for Onans also) that screws up a normal 4 cycle spark sensing tach.

Is your question about a K single, or a K two cyl?

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It is a single cyl. K301 12 HP
Tiny Tach said that the one for the K-series would work on other 4 stroke ,but for the K they have one just for them.
I thought it might have had to do with static or something.