My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I’m new to Graveleys. I was looking at DRs and then discovered Graveleys. I found the one below on Craigslist and have been trying to get a serial number from the seller to get an idea of which engine it is and worth. I intend to use it for clearing brush in an old apple orchard. I’m guessing it’s either a 6.6 or 7.6 HP. Seller said it ran two years ago; it is listed with a the brush hog deck and the asking price is $500 OBO. Any info for a newbie is greatly appreciated!

·
Premium Member
4,319 Posts
I'd say you have a mid to late '60s custom convertible, or perhaps an L with a convertible hood.

The S/N would narrow that.

No two-speed axle. It has a governor. Can't tell which engine without a look at the head. If it's really a convertible, it should have the 7.6 engine with the vertical plug. Muffler's missing, that's an easy fix. Looks like an MA106 deck, which is good.

Either engine would serve your purpose well.

500 is rather out of line for a non-runner. Even a nicely running machine in that configuration likely wouldn't fetch 500.

If it were me, I'd look it over, check the compression, listen for a "snap" from the magneto, see if it's making a spark etc. Heck, even throw some fuel in it an try to start it. If I got it to run, I might pay 250 for the whole thing. The deck alone is worth 75 to 100 if it has a decent blade and the spindle isn't bent. As a non-runner, 200 tops. There are probably more than 200 bucks worth of parts there.

But note my sig: I have way too many of these things, I don't need more. You should decide what it's worth to you. And if it's not running, how much of a project you want. If you keep looking, I bet you'll find other L models in running condition for less.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)