My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at an AC 710 for sale. It seems to be the same thing as a Simplicity 7010, based on cross reference charts. This one looks like the newer model - with headlights in the grill rather than outside. The ad says it is a 3 speed, but the newer ones look like they should have 6 speeds. If so, how is the low range operated? Move the belt to a separate set of drive pulleys, maybe?

This looks to be a heavy duty GT, but I have no experience with Simplicity/AC tractors. I would like info about durability, parts availability, what to look for in possible trouble spots, etc.

Could I put a FEL on this?

Thanks. Any info would be appreciated

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Since no one has replied to my post, I guess I will have to talk to myself. I went and picked up the 710 (7010) today. It is in nice condition for its age. Everything works as it is supposed to. A few rust spots and lots of grease and oil. It does need a good cleaning and replace all the fluids to start with. The former owner had been using it for a backup mower when his was down, so it has had occasional use for about the last 6 years, not just sitting.

Reading other posts makes me believe this should have a really great mowing deck, but it is VERY loud, has a lot of vibration, and doesn't make a very nice cut. Does anyone have any suggestions about where to start in getting the mower sweetened up? I am thinking I should pull the deck and check the blade balance, pulleys, idler, timing and bearings. What is the usual procedure?

I will post some pix when I get to working on it.

·
4K Poster!!!
4,503 Posts
"I am thinking I should pull the deck and check the blade balance, pulleys, idler, timing and bearings. What is the usual procedure?"