My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I am a true newbie... moving from a house on .03 acres (or something like that) to 2.75 acres. Heck, I grew up in a rowhouse in the city! I am looking for a mower, and the Craftsman PGT9000 has caught my attention.
Does anyone know where I can find what model transaxle is in this mower? There is a decent slope to one side of the yard, and the its fairly bumpy / rocky. And... I am assuming that a decent transaxle is important for a large slope.

I went to a local cub cadet dealer to look at a GT 1554, and when the salesman found out where the property was, he suggested that I look at the PGT9000 (because of my limitation on available funds. Of course he wanted me to by a $5000 cub, but when he saw my tears, I think he felt sorry for me.) I figured it must be a decent tractor, or he has a cousin that works at Sears.
Thanks!
John

·
USMC
19,146 Posts
:Welcome1: and enjoy the forum. There is also a lot of good used equipment out there if you have the time to look. Take your time and see whats available to you in your area. Do some research and just don't jump in and get something that won't hold up to your needs and wind up replacing it in a year or two. What do you plan on using it for. Whatever you buy make sure it's up to the task and don't push it beyond it's designed limits. Enjoy the hunt and post some pics of it when you get it. slkpk

·
Super Moderator
32,058 Posts
The bumpy yard is what the diciding factor is IMHO. So what kinda skill level do you have?? Can you fix, and repair things yourself?? Are you handy at all? Also what kinda a budjet are you working with???

My fear is that the bumpy yard will tear up the front axle/steering parts in short order.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I typically don't venture beyond basic maintenance, but I do have a close friend that is a mechanic, and is handy in general.

I've really got to stay in the $3,000 range.