My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Lindeman crawler fan
2,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

GOOD NEWS - GOOD NEWS - GOOD NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been driving this truck since 1995 and never had any problem but last fall someone ran into the right front corner of my truck.
It happened out in front of Wallmart.
The damage was set at $2500 with the purchase of new parts and a body shop doing the work.

I only carry PL & PD insurance on it so I have to pay for the damage myself.
It needs a fender, grille support, bumper splash apron and grille.

All winter I have been hunting for parts on ebay.
I picked up a "New" grille for $68 less than catalog price.

A used grille support from California for $161 less than new.
It also has the bumper splash apron on it so that saves me another $90 plus $30 shipping.

Last night I finally was able to get the fender ( also from California ) for $415 less than new.
I know it looks really "scummy" and it has some small dents, but there isn't and rust holes in it.

The fender is being shipped by Greyhound Bus and could take up to 20 days to get here.
Then I'm going to get my truck fixed back up.

·
Registered
2,467 Posts
A good body man can straighten out your old parts. Then you can put them on E-bay and get your money back. That is the beauty of old iron they are made heavy and give you something to work with.

·
I'll never get to 10,000
5,186 Posts
Good luck getting it back to original!!! Nice to see those old beast around.
My dad had a '59 3/4 ton Apache long bed. What a great truck that was.

·
Retired Aug.31 2007
7,473 Posts
That's a good looking truck. I am glad you are repairing it.

·
collector of the old
380 Posts
When whoever ran into your truck...if they would have dont that to my truck I probily would have unloaded on them, who did you react?

·
Lindeman crawler fan
2,680 Posts
Discussion Starter #8