My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there's another thread, but couldn't get an answer.

My 48" deck's center spindle's grease zerk won't accept grease. Since it's the center spindle, I have no room really to yank it.

Do I need to remove the deck and give it a good yank with vice grips?

Any other tricks for getting a press-in zerk out without removing the deck and when there is no clearance?

I'm new to tractors... I've heard putting the CC deck back on is a pain.

Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Jim yes, absolutely remove the deck to remove/replace that zerk.

May as well sharpen the blades while it's off too. btw when you remove the deck you'll find more zerks on the pulley arbors...I think.

I don't know about the GT3235 but most decks get easier to put on the more times you do it. Sure taking them off is simple.

I use these wedges the elevate the back of the deck to the exact position the retaining pins require ...using them it becomes a real easy job.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the vote of confidence in removing the deck.

I had heard that reattaching the PTO driveshaft to the deck was a pain.

·
Tech Nerd Tractor Convert
1,388 Posts
[...]

I use these wedges the elevate the back of the deck to the exact position the retaining pins require ...using them it becomes a real easy job.
Good to hear I'm not the only one who has to use a little "assistance" to get the deck to line up with the hangers just right... I use a big long 1.5" diameter PVC pipe to lever my deck into the right elevation to accept the pins. I think I might try the wedge idea..

And CJ-8... yep, get used to removing and reattaching the mowing deck. It's not a lot of fun, but somehow mowing decks seem to require more maintenance than a tractor itself, and if you want the deck to last you'll probably have it off several times a season for cleaning, greasing, etc.