My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I just picked up a JD455 with a 40 loader. About 1200 and some odd hours.. Looks to be in really good shape.. It had been painted at some point (not a perfect job, but will work for the time being..)

I have a quick question about the loader.. I tried to lift the front of the tractor by pushing the bucket to the ground, but nothing.. Should this loader be able to lift the front of the tractor off the ground? Could there be a problem?

I'm heading out to take some pics of the new baby.. I'll post in just a bit..

Thanks in advance!
Scott

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
I am no expert but could you have the hoses connected to the wrong ports on the tractor? On my 318 the front blade has a "float" function so it wont have any down pressure. I am assuming that your loader connects the same as my blade?

·
Has anyone seen ChimChim?
6,553 Posts
That's a good point KJD. I know my 54" blade lifts my front end off the ground and I'd assume the 45 FEL certainly should.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys - I just figured it out.. I should have read the manual in the first place! :)

Lower the boom to the ground, then tip the bucket.. The whole tractor then lifts off the ground.

I'll get some pictures up soon. Thanks again! My first diesel and my first loader (outside of a JBjr).. I'm excited!

·
Registered
237 Posts
If you dont mind me asking, how much did it set you back?

·
Super Moderator
32,682 Posts
Yes, one of the real benefits of the hydraulics is it makes front tire maintenance much easier! Glad you figured out the bucket issue so quickly!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hey BG,