My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

What category is the John Deere 3 point hitch for a JD 400? Is it a Class 0 or 1?

What is the difference and how can I tell? I have an opportunity to purchase one today and want to know what I should get and what to look for.

Any difference in capability between the different categories?

My intended purpose for this hitch would be to till a garden, move my trailer etc and generally get deeper into the hobby. I have never had a 3 point hitch before so I am new to this piece of equipment.

One last question: If I get a 3 point post hole digger, I gather I will need a rear PTO?

Anyone ever seen one for JD 400? I have yet to see something like for sale for a 400.

Doing a search really didn't yield any information I could use.

Thanks,

Lee

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
Lee, Alan in Vermont is one of the most experienced 400 owners on here, but I'll give your question a try.

Ruegg manufacturing sells a convertible cat-0/cat-1 hitch now, so this is all I recommmend anymore for 300/400 owners.

I believe the factory option was cat-0. The differences are in lift pin diameter, link spacing, and of course capacity.

I believe your rear PTO on the 400 was an 800 RPM pto, so a conventional 540 RPM PHD wouldn't work unless you idled the engine down some, then of course you are not making full HP.

·
Citizen of Earth
15,742 Posts
Deere made a cat "0" 3 point hitch for the 400. No cat. "I" was availble from the factory. As mentioned above, there are aftermarket hitches that are different. If you are thinking of getting a regular post hole auger from a farm equipment store to fit on your 400, it won't work. Same thing for a rear tiller, you are pretty much stuck using model 400 specific attachments. Not a lot on Ebay today, but here is what I found:

http://cgi.ebay.com/John-Deere-400-3-Point-Hitch-/200503242416?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0

·
Registered
1,770 Posts