My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, most have seen my threads when I got this bute, I love it. I did all the fluids right away, including the engine oil, and I used Rotella T 30w oil. After maybe 5 hours of hard work, it was a little over half a qt low. I check it before every job, and every couple hours is at least half a quart. No leaks, and no smoke with the 30w.

Now before I get in trouble for this, I know it isn't desirable, but after flushing the oil with some seafoam, and letting it drain for 24hrs, I tried 15w40 oil and some lucas, and it smoked a little on start up, and used about the same....I know, its not the right oil, so I changed it out after a couple hrs of run time, and some reading around here.

Now, I drained the 15w40 for 24 hr, and I filled it w/ 50w Penzoil GT Racing oil, mainly because I had it on the shelf for the Harley, and I wanted some thicker oil, Any thoughts? I'm an auto mechanic, and know a little of small engines, but not a ton yet. I'm figuring the engine has some wear, and it is hot now anyway. I used a little lucas again. I've had good results with that stuff in auto engines before, so we'll see. Just lookin for some input and things to bounce around, may be looking at an overhaul soon if this persists.

I do not plan to keep that oil in there in cold weather if I get a snow caster.

·
HeadCase For My Ingersoll
1,359 Posts
On worn engines that are splash lubricated, I have had good luck with 50w oil as a short term remedy for light to moderate oil consumption. Just keep in mind that a rebuild isn't too far off and to replace it with the correct weight oil if you plan on winter use.

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
^thanks, kinda what I'm thinking