My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the JD world and just acquired a 1979 212 a few days ago. I am in the process of going through it see what it needs, etc. Everything has been silky smooth thus far except the removal of the front draft plate.

The deck is the 47" original as per the owner and everything looks original and well kept. How exactly are the pins that hold the drift plate to the front frame supposed to come out/loosen up? It appears to me that they look to be spring loaded and pull inwards and then lock in their notch.

It is clear (or so i thought) there is a horizontal "L" machined into the drift plate tube. I have 3lb sledged, PB-blasted, propane torched, and PB-blasted again and i can only get them to move about 1cm inwards, not enough to clear the frame and there is no springing pushing them back out. There appears to be extremely heavy duty roll pins installed to act as the lever to pull on.

I am just curious as to why these are being such a bear and everything else is like butter on the 212? Am i missing something? The pics below are not mine (obviously) but are identical and off a 200 series.

·
Certified Master Tinkerer
3,045 Posts
My 110 uses the same draft plate and had sat outside for 3 years. I had to persuade it off with a 3 lb. sledge and then splooshed it with pneumatic tool lubricating oil for a couple days to loosen it up.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My 110 uses the same draft plate and had sat outside for 3 years. I had to persuade it off with a 3 lb. sledge and then splooshed it with pneumatic tool lubricating oil for a couple days to loosen it up.