My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My tractor may or may not be sea worthy at the moment. The engine is a little locked up. I lubricated the engine through the spark plug opening and am re-charging the battery. It also needs a new center blade hub. The center blade fell off the last time I operated it.

The issue: I inherited this from my step-father, the mechanic. I am not a mechanic. If the engine will not start, I need to sell it for repair or parts. If it will, then I'm looking for a blade hub. None of the repair shops around here will work on it due to its age and rarity of parts. They are afraid to put time into opening it up only to find a part is unavailable.

If I sell it for parts, what is it worth? It looks wonderful. No rust. Painted well- white and jade mist. Looks like the 1968 Sears ad. It's time for tires. It even has the original hubcaps. Up until a few days ago was humming along.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Best,
Kirk

·
Registered
716 Posts
would be a shame to part it out, if it is in great shape :wwp: :wwp:

not sure why a shop would not want to "look it over" they get paid for their time reguardless. you may try a repower with a clone engine, or post in the for sale/wanted section and see if you can score a replacement engine :fing32:

last but not least, get the manuals and rebuild the bugger yourself!!!!

good luck and keep us posted :howdy:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I'll post photos this evening.