My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, proud to be here.
I just picked up a 1964 L8 Gravely with brush hog deck and sickle bar. My dad was 17 years old when this thing was made!

Seems to have been well taken care of. Purchased from former owner's grandson. I am a first time Gravely owner and need the machine to brush hog around my 3 acre property. I have been going through $30 used modern push mowers. haha. I have limited experience maintaining lawn equipment but this forum seems like it will be a great resource for me. I do have a hand me down Craftsman rider, 19hp briggs that mows the finished lawn area.

Here's what I've noticed:
  1. Battery's dead and does not seem to be holding a charge, but I will put it on trickle charge overnight.
  2. Seller was able to start it with jumper cables, with positive lead to starter. Battery was too dead with jumper cable leads on battery and foot starter button.
  3. Oil looks clean.
  4. Throttle cable rod was not connected. I likely need a new one. Original rod is all mangled.
  5. I know i'm missing the right side fin cover plate, and that it is needed for cooling.
  6. No choke cable. Not sure if there was one on the '64.
I'm attaching some pics. I did download the manuals and I'm reading them.

I see some nice throttle setups here:

See anything unusual in my photos?
Any recommendations for an aftermarket or used good throttle rod/cable? Can I run the machine without one, for now?
Anybody in Ulster, Dutchess, Orange County NY that has a heat shield plate? I'm looking around fb marketplace, Craigslist.

Thanks
Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Wood Red Font

Wheel Tire Motor vehicle Automotive tire Automotive design
Tire Plant Wheel Automotive tire Vehicle

Wheel Tire Plant Motor vehicle Vehicle

Circuit component Automotive tire Motor vehicle Electrical wiring Gas

·
Premium Member
5,776 Posts
Welcome 1964!