My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the Double post folks, Im new at this stuff

I Have a new to me '59 Oliver 550.

tore it down a bit Ie: , flushed fuel tank and rad, dissasembled and cleaned carb, charged up an ol battery, new trans fluid and hydraulic fluid.
Started it up and it ran great for about an hour.
then while i was getting my meter to check charging system it died. and now wont start. I have suspect spark as fuel is getting there and starter is turning well by key. the question I am hoping to get answered here is this....
I get voltage across the coil terminal from batter pos to coil neg until I turn the key to the on position, then the voltage dissapears.
why is this? anyone know? I assume clutch safety is out of question as the starter turns freely under key but no spark which I assume is because there is no voltage at coil when key is turned.
related to this there is a white doo hickey under neath the ignition switch which looks like it could have been a kill switch or something and I only get voltage at coil when i put a screwdriver in this doohickey. but it still goes away when the key is turned to on yesterday when the tractor ran i did not need a screwdriver in the doohickey.

:)

any insight would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Tarik

Attachments

·
Banned
7,239 Posts
When measuring voltage at the coil terminal, it goes to ZERO when the points are closed.

Possibly the "doo hickey" was a switch to bypass full battery voltage to the ign.coil when cranking?

A picture of the ign. coil wiring may be useful to see if anything has been added.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok thanks for the insight.
do the points close when the starter is cranking?
maybe the doo hickey has something to do with the resistor circuit is what you are suggesting?