My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of rebuilding the 14hp Kohler engine on my 1977 Power King. Although I've had this tractor for almost 15 years, I made the mistake of letting it get low on oil (yes, I know better!), and when it started making noise I shut it down, added oil and I restarted it. But very quickly afterward it started knocking very bad and before I could shut it down again it died. It still turns over when I crank it, but will not run. From the thumb test over the spark plug hole I don't feel any compression, but based on the Kohler manual, as these engines have automatic compression release, I'm not sure you can check for compression that way. So I guess it's time to open it up and see what happened. As having never done an engine rebuild before, if anyone has any advice to give, I would appreciate it. For me, the easy part is done - I have the engine out. As I have little experience disassembling and re-assembling engines, now the hard part starts. Thanks in advance to anyone who has any advice.

100_3718(1).JPG

100_3719(1).JPG

·
Still plays with tractors
2,283 Posts
My guess is (and this is just a guess as I don't have all that much engine experience either) the rod broke. At best, you will need a good hone job, new piston, rod and rings. Spend a little more and get genuine kohler parts. At worst, the cylinder and the crank has been damaged. You won't know any of that until you get the head off at least. Take the head off and turn the crank by hand. If the piston doesn't move, you know the rod broke. Inspect the cylinder wall for damage (cracks, chunks of wall broken out, grooves too deep to hone or machine out, etc.).