My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Lifetime Lawn Guy
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another project, on a mower I've owned since '94. Bought it new when I was a sophomore in high school! I have not used it much at all in the last 5 years or so, it just camped out in the shed, I'd fire it up once a year or so, that was about it. A friend of mine bought a house, needed a mower, so I loaned it to him. He called last night said it started cutting out and then died after he turned it around from one pass to the next. Had been running fine before that. Fired it back up and the RPM's were insanely high he said, screaming. He killed it. Looked it over a bit, fired it up again, it ran fine, but still somewhat high on the RPM's. (almost 4,000 when I checked it).

I have an M-series service manual, but someone prior to my owning it removed the carb and govenor sections! :banghead3

The govenor I assume is adjusted by bending on the linkage where the lower end of the spring attaches. At least I was able to bend it up, removing some tension from the spring, and getting the rpm's down to 3600 (I'm sure it's supposed to be 3200-3300 though) but 3600 is ok with me. After it was running a while on the bench and got good and hot the govenor started hunting, not fast, but kinda slowly, back and forth. Never did that before...

Of course I post this and it's still dissassembled. I pulled the carb off and the engine shroud, cleaned everything with the air hose. There was a good bit of oil/dirt under the flywheel around the oil pump. Not sure if it's the top seal leaking or the oil pump?? I cleaned the carb, but haven't pulled the bowl off. I don't have gaskets for this one. I shot some carb cleaner in it after removing the mixture adjustment screw as well as the jets. Hoping it was just a tiny something that was causing the issues.