My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and thanks in advance for any help. I've searched for this first and didn't find any specific info so here goes. My Case 448 with an Onan B48M is burning 1 quart of oil every tank of gas. We did a valve cleaning job 6 months ago and based on some forums advice have been running 15w-40 Rotella since. Now the mower is doing this. Both cylinders test out at 120. Some posts say we should be running straight 30 oil. I am lost since I am not a mechanic. But I do know one who can do the work needed. Can someone give us an idea where to start?

·
Registered
154 Posts
Rotella 15W-40 is used in the hydraulic system and is added to to hydraulic reservoir. SAE 30 is used in the engine.

·
Banned
1,500 Posts
One of the most hotly debated topics is oil.

I just consulted two Op Manuals produced by Case for the 446 models. The early one specifies only 30W for temps above freezing. The second one also specifies 30W but shows 20W40 as being acceptable. Of course, 20W40 is a multi-grade oil that has almost disappeared from the scene and 20W50 is the replacement for it.

Both Onan and Kohler state that higher oil consumption is to be expected whenever a multi-grade oil is used. Since your oil consumption is very high, my advice is to switch to 40W to see how much of a difference that grade will make to the consumption issue.

You can have good compression in an engine but if the oil rings on the pistons are not what they should be, then you will burn more oil than what is normal for these old technology engines. Bad valve guides can also cause increased consumption.

·
Banned
1,634 Posts
One of the most hotly debated topics is oil.

Both Onan and Kohler state that higher oil consumption is to be expected whenever a multi-grade oil is used. Since your oil consumption is very high, my advice is to switch to 40W to see how much of a difference that grade will make to the consumption issue.