My Tractor Forum banner

Project: Gravely Custom

254K views 2K replies 100 participants last post by  tiretrx 
#1 ·
Hi Gang. Been mulling over what to tackle for my winter project. Came down to re-doing my Bungartz or doing a Gravely custom that I've been running through my head for about 3 years now. Chose doing the Gravely yesterday. Started digging in today and got a solid(well, for me) day in. Basically, I'm taking a running '80 8169, that I paid $200 for with a 60" deck, and attempting to build it to the picture I have in my head. I'm sure it will not appeal to the purists out there, so this is your last chance to turn away:Stop: OK, now for those of you that have chosen to stay, here is my mission goal. First, when done the tractors sole job will be to push/pull from both ends. It will also be a puller at the local club pulls. Second, when looked at there will be no mistake that it is a Gravely, not original, but still solidly Gravely. Third, some of the changes will reflect what I see as improvements to the Gravely design( I know, blasphemy!!! Off with the infidels head), both mechanically and esthetically. Some will pertain to it's job as my mule. And some will be there merely because to me they are just plain old cool and I want to see if I can do them and how/if they will work. I'm looking forward to the process and I'll keep you updated with my progress. I want to have it done for the summer pulls. Some pics so far.

This is what I'm starting with.

Time to tear it down.

Bye hydraulics, next stop eBay.

Off with the Briggs.

This is what was left at the end of the day. Stay tuned.

See less See more
#2 ·
Looks like a way fun project. Good day's work! Please keep those pix coming, always like to see what other folks are working on.

Reactions: Dexta dude
#3 ·
and away we go! Really looking forward to seeing your progress!

#4 ·
Put a few more hours in on the custom. Some pics of the progress.

This 432 parter will donate to the cause.