Simplicity Regent starter problem - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Old 08-30-2009, 11:32 PM   post #1 of 4
tbags4ever
MTF Junior Poster

MTF Member # 29439
Default Simplicity Regent starter problem

Looking for some help!

I am pretty new at fixing up tractors, and sometimes stumble on somewhat common/simple issues, so here we go:

I am fixing up a nice late 1990s/early 2000s Regent 14hp Briggs w/hydro. The previous owners let it go to waste and didn't take care of it at all. Well, I got it running, but the starter is not working properly.

The starter was able to spin the crank no problem when the plug was out, but now that I have everything togther, the starter will turn it one revolution, pause for a second or two, and then turn it one revolution again. The only time I got it to continuously crank and start is when the throttle is closed (but that doesn't work all the time either). I notice that when I am done cranking for 5-10 seconds, the ground wire on the battery and starter is pretty hot to the touch.

I have read on here that problems similar to this could be a ground issue, such as a bad contact somewhere. Could it be the solenoid? a bad/worn out starter? I appreciate everyone's help. I will be glad to run tests that anyone recommends. I am not too keen with a voltage tester, so step by step instructions would help me there. Thanks. I am looking forward to getting this thing running.
tbags4ever is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2009, 02:20 AM   post #2 of 4
Fcubman
3K Poster!!!!

MTF Member # 18953
Default Re: Simplicity Regent starter problem