connecting 2305 belly mower pto - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Old 08-23-2009, 05:05 PM   post #1 of 9
oakhilltop
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 18334
Default connecting 2305 belly mower pto

I finally got my 2305 a few weeks ago, but due to a bunch of things (moving 2 daughters, one to Chicago and one to Atlanta), I haven't had much time to use it or post on here. I did get some time today to try taking the mowing deck off. Pretty easy to do. But I'm having a helluva time getting the pto shaft back on when I try to put it back on the tractor.

Is there a trick to this? This is my first time using a pto with a collar. My old tractor had a "harder" system with a hitch pin to hold it on. But it was easy to turn the shaft to line up the splines. I can't seem to get the splines to line up on this one.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated and I hope to post some pics next week.

Thanks,
Steve
oakhilltop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-23-2009, 05:18 PM   post #2 of 9
oakhilltop
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 18334
Default Re: connecting 2305 belly mower pto

I found the secret! Its, make a post on here to let the world know that you are a ????, then go out and try it again!

I had been trying for about 30 minutes, made the post, went back out, and had it on within a minute. The thing is, I'm not sure what I did different. I did try turning the shaft at the ujoint.
Old 08-23-2009, 05:33 PM   post #3 of 9
smeagol
myyyy preciousssss!

MTF Member # 19549

Oakhilltop, there's a couple of things to do:

[1] make sure the collar is pulled right back and locked into place
[2] set your pto lever to rear so the the PTO spline can turn
[3] it should just slide straight on now, and when its in place the collar will lock into place