Craftsman tiller belt replacement - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2009, 11:32 AM   #1
MRsluggo
MTF Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 63
MTF Member # 22993
Help Craftsman tiller belt replacement

I've got a 5hp craftsman tiller, model 135202, type 0119-01 that the forward drive belt has broken on. I went to an auto parts store and got a 40" belt that looks just like the old one (except it makes a complete circle). However, I can't seem to get the new one to stretch over both pulleys. No matter how hard I pry grunt and groan. Am I doing something wrong, have the wrong belt, or is there a trick here I'm missing. Any help would be much appreciated.
MRsluggo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2009, 12:16 PM   #2
davidg
The Travelin' Mod
 
davidg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MS
Posts: 16,637
MTF Member # 807
Images: 2
Default Re: Craftsman tiller belt replacement

you should have either an idler that allows for slack, or your engine mounts need to be loosened to give it some slack.
__________________
Check out our new HOMEPAGE


davidg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2009, 01:18 PM   #3
MRsluggo
MTF Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 63
MTF Member # 22993
Default Re: Craftsman tiller belt replacement

well there is an idler pulley that removes slack when the lever on the tiller handle is depressed. but the belt wont fit between the pulley coming out of the engine and the drive pulley. wrong size? i measured the old one and it was 40"...
MRsluggo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2009, 02:07 PM   #4
davidg
The Travelin' Mod
 
davidg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MS
Posts: 16,637
MTF Member # 807
Images: 2
Default Re: Craftsman tiller belt replacement

you need teh actual sears part number for the tiller. it will be XXX.XXXXXX. the number you posted is for the engine. then goto sears' parts website and look up to see what the correct length belt is.

like i said, on mine you loosen teh 4 engine mounting bolts and slide the engine in teh mount to get the slack required.
__________________
Check out our new HOMEPAGE


davidg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Compact Tractor Reviews Tractor Reviews Snowblowers Lawn Mower Forum
My Tractor Forum Snow Thrower Power Equipment Forum
Combine Forum Snowblower Forum ATV and UTV Reviews