Cub Cadet 1440 stalls out - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Old 07-02-2008, 07:42 AM   post #1 of 37
mjm-ny
MTF Junior Poster

MTF Member # 14188
Default Cub Cadet 1440 stalls out

Newbie here writing in and was looking for some help!! I have a 94 1440 w/ a Briggs 14hp engine. This is what is happening: will start up and run fine and mow fine for 20 minutes or so. Then it will start to bog down, throttle seems to surge up and down some and will eventually quit. If the PTO is on and I switch it off sometimes it will regain the rpm's but still throttle real rough. I can start it right back up again after it quits but may take a minute to get back up to idle. If i turn PTO on again it will do same thing.

Pretty much have it narrowed to carb and/or coils. I have taken the carb off and completely cleaned it by dipping in carb cleaner and then blowing it out w/ air. I am waiting for new gaskets to put it back together.

I have also purchased two new coils. Reading the card inside the coil box i guess there is a certain way you need to install them? Can someone give me some hints here?

Also, what does the problem sound like to you guys?

Thanks for any help!!!
mjm-ny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2008, 09:02 AM   post #2 of 37
Dave01
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 8898
Default Re: Cub Cadet 1440 stalls out

Coils are a good place to start, see if the new ones make a difference. I'd change out one at a time to isolate which one is bad, then install the other new one and keep the good old one for a spare, assuming this fixes the problem.