Simplicity coronet pto clutch - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 04:11 PM   post #1 of 10
WooodyII2
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 9
MTF Member # 30527
Default Simplicity coronet pto clutch

Hello,
Currently I am working on a Simplicity Coronet 12 Hydro that I got for free as it was not working. The pto switch was busted so I replaced it with the PTO Kit due to update. I got the machine running and was very happy but when I engage the pto for blade operation nothing happens. All the wires looked fine so I crawled underneath and removed the electric pto. I have no experience with electric pto's so I am not quite sure what I am looking for except I thought someone said there should be some sort of liner on the disc but I see nothing. Is this correct? Here is a picture of it.
Any info will be much appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-05-28 15.04.14.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	258.6 KB
ID:	314937  
WooodyII2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2013, 08:05 AM   post #2 of 10
mowman1
Senior MTF Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 370
MTF Member # 59877
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

I would put the clutch back together and back on the rider. do not connect the wires to the clutch. Next take 2 pices of wire and put one on each post of the battery and then touch one to each of the terminals on the clutch. If the clutch is good you should hear it snap in. If it does snap in when you touch and release the wires then the clutch should be ok and that would mean there is a problem with the wiring.
mowman1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2013, 08:12 AM   post #3 of 10
WooodyII2
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 9
MTF Member # 30527
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

Thanks, I will try that today
WooodyII2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2013, 08:41 AM   post #4 of 10
WooodyII2
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 9
MTF Member # 30527
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

Well......
I did as you said and no click, no nothin. The battery is good so I know thats good. So these clutches look a bit pricey. Anyone no of a good place to get one? New or used?

Thanks guys
WooodyII2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2013, 11:39 AM   post #5 of 10
Fcubman
3K Poster!!!!
 
Fcubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,702
MTF Member # 18953
Images: 5
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

You could use a multimeter and check for continuity through the clutch windings. The PTOs are pretty pricey, so I'd make really sure this one was bad before buying another. Since you can get at the windings, you may be able to find a break in the wiring - probably near the terminals. What do you have to lose at this point?
__________________
Remember, I'm pullin' for ya! We're all in this together!
(Red Green)

Living in The Land Of The Free - because of The Brave!
Fcubman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2013, 02:17 PM   post #6 of 10
showags
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 20
MTF Member # 78803
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

Not familiar with that particular clutch but can you verify if the armature (moveable disc) is free on whatever it slides on? In other words, if there was a magnetic force, is it physicall possible for the two discs to meet? Assuming it can freely move (big assumption = see my post on Conquest Clutch) it is still dependant on a magnetic force (windings, lead, etc. good) and the distance between the moveable and stationaly (vertically) disc. On the conquest, the coil needed to ohm out between 2.5 and 3.0 ohms if I recall (reference my other post). Mine actually ohm'd out at 3.4 but works just fine. You are really looking to make sure it is no 0 or .something ohms(short) or open lead or exponentially higher resistance (open). Check by putting leads in clutch end plug and verfy at coil connection point if possible (vett out wiring connections). Check to make sure there is a 0.012-0.015" spacing between discs at rest.

On my, all of this checked out but it was the visual/physical observation of a stuck armature that solved the issue.
showags is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2013, 07:58 AM   post #7 of 10
WooodyII2
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 9
MTF Member # 30527
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

I will give it another look today. Thanks for the info. Been on vaction so back to the grind
WooodyII2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2013, 09:03 AM   post #8 of 10
shamrockjack
Proud Member of the 1K Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: IL.
Posts: 1,256
MTF Member # 37787
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

check on Ebay for a used clutch
shamrockjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2013, 09:43 PM   post #9 of 10
sammiefish
MTF Member
 
sammiefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 98
MTF Member # 35435
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

I know you said your battery is good ... but ...

on my coronet (9 manual)... if the voltage is low (good enough to start but maybe not good full charge) the pto wont engage..

maybe even just a connection problem not providing enough juice
__________________
AC 3/400's
sammiefish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2013, 12:20 PM   post #10 of 10
WooodyII2
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 9
MTF Member # 30527
Default Re: Simplicity coronet pto clutch

Finally fixed. I got a clutch from a junker coronet 13 and installed it. And now all is right the world. Thanks everyone for the help
WooodyII2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Compact Tractor Reviews Tractor Reviews Snowblowers Lawn Mower Forum
My Tractor Forum Snow Thrower Power Equipment Forum
Combine Forum Snowblower Forum ATV and UTV Reviews