How to weld on galvanized angle iron - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Old 06-21-2011, 03:57 PM   post #1 of 24
mustangpat65
MTF Junior Poster

MTF Member # 48307
Default How to weld on galvanized angle iron

I am very new to welding and bought a Hobart 140 mig. I am trying to weld some 1/4" galvanized angle iron together. I ground the galvanized off with an angle grinder but cannot get a good consistent bacon sound while welding. It sputters and crackles like crazy. I am using 40 wire speed and 4 on the power. What am I doing wrong?
mustangpat65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-21-2011, 06:29 PM   post #2 of 24
MrGiggles
TE Writer

MTF Member # 30161
Default Re: How to weld on galvanized angle iron

Welding galvanized releases a toxic gas IIRC.
Husqvarna 50 Special, 20" and 16" bars
Stihl 066 Chainsaw, 25" and 20" bars
Jonsered 2252 Autotune, 18" bar
1999 Kawasaki Bayou 220 ATV
Collection still growing.
MrGiggles is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2011, 06:30 PM   post #3 of 24
TMM
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 39078

i can't help you much with your welding issue, but i want to remind anyone who may read this of the danger of welding galvanized steel. the zinc galvanization will burn and vaporize, and can make you extremely sick if you inhale the vapor! you seem to be on the right track with the angle grinder to take all that stuff off. but it will still heat up and burn if there's anything left near the joint.

my best suggestion for your welding issue is the thoroughly clean a scrap piece and weld on it, messing with your settings until you get it right.

tmm
TMM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2011, 07:02 PM   post #4 of 24
ShovelJockey
MTF Member

MTF Member # 62096