Craftsman snow blower not running well. - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Snow Removal Equipment Winter snow throwing, plowing, and removal forum. From snow blowers to snow shovels, you'll find them here.

Old 01-16-2011, 01:52 PM   #1
scipper77
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 25944
Default Craftsman snow blower not running well.

I have a 2005 8.5 HP Craftsman model 536.881851 (Briggs)

This season I noticed a surge at idle. Now after a half dozen uses it is really hard to start. I have never used the electric start before, now it's the only way I can start it. After starting it seems to run pretty good but in my opinion it bogs down "a little" easier than it should.

I have checked compression and several turns of the engine with the electric start brings the reading to 75 lb's. From what I understand this number doesn't mean much because there is a pressure relief mechanism for ease of starting.

In the interest of full disclosure I think the original owner replaced the shear pins with regular bolts. I have bogged the engine pretty good on occasion so I'm at piece with the possibility of needing a major repair.

There is a spot on the heat shield (front side of motor) that looks like someone has held a torch to it (discolored).

Now that I have the lengthy description out of the way I'll tell you what I'm thinking and then hopefully someone here will ignore my opinion and tell me what I need to do to determine the issue.

From the idle surge I thought the carb was the issue. Now with the very sudden change in starting performance and the hot spot on the front heat shield I'm thinking there is a leak in the head gasket. That leak would cause a lack of compression making it hard to start. Carb may also be an issue.

What do you guys think??