John Deere Paint - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

John Deere Forum John Deere Garden Tractor talk

Old 04-09-2010, 09:17 AM   #1
212Rookie
MTF Junior Poster

MTF Member # 41356
Default John Deere Paint

Hello all, I'm a newbie here on this forum and in the garden tractor world. I purchased a 1978 John Deere 212 that I'm in the process of redoing and using it as a lawn and garden tractor around my house to mow and push snow. I was wondering what kind of paint you guys recommend? What are your thoughts of the strength and quality of the John Deere Green paint you can get at the local dealership or do I go to the local paint shop and have them mix me John Deere Green and use a clearcoat then on it? I have all panels primed and ready to go. Thanks everyone in advance. I have to get some pictures on here soon.
212Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2010, 09:29 AM   #2
wally2q
2000 Posts and climbing!!!

MTF Member # 45
Default Re: John Deere Paint

depends if you want to make a show-piece, or just paint a "working machine"?....

if show-piece, go to a base / clear-coat product. If working machine, I'd use the regular enamel or whatever the standard paint is....

I use basic spray-can for all my implements... surface finish is acceptable, but highly dependent on quality of the prepped surface.... for implements I am not too picky.... but a well prepped surface can look quite-good when painted with a spray can. Mind you, that is usually steel framework (narrow, convoluted-shape pieces) etc... on a large flat surface (like a front hood), paint uniformity imperfections will be more visible.

Spray-can paint durability is quite good - as long as you give the paint 2-3 days to dry good and well.
wally2q is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message