Grease Gun Recommendation - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Lubrication and Filters The slick stuff we all use

Old 03-08-2010, 06:23 AM   post #1 of 13
Jig Stick
Tractor Jockey

MTF Member # 31687
Default Grease Gun Recommendation

I just purchased my first JOhn Deere. A 2005 GX345. I am doing a complete maintenance routine so that I know what I am starting with maintenance wise. can somebody recommend a good grease gun for me to use on my mower deck spindles and front wheel spindles? How does a greas gun fit onto the components that need grease in them? Is there a bib like when you connect an air house to tire valve stems? Im new at this whole grease thing. THanks.
Stihl 110 Kombisystem
Stihl Farmboss with 20in bar
Stihl Yardboss
Stihl Shredder Vac
Lawnboy Pushmower
Makita Powertools
Snap On hand tools

"Screw the Matrix.....Id take both pills"
Jig Stick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2010, 06:52 AM   post #2 of 13
Grateful11
2000 Posts and climbing!!!

MTF Member # 5025
Default Re: Grease Gun Recommendation

The thread below is probably one the best Grease Gun thread in a long time.

http://www.mytractorforum.com/showth...ghlight=grease

The grease fitting, aka: Zerk or Alemite, is a little round nipple that the
grease end goes over and kind of snaps onto and normally stays on as you
apply pressure with the grease gun. Personally I use Mystik JT6 grease
widely available at all Tractor Supply stores and other places. We have
3 Lincoln brand grease guns.

Good Luck!
'91 CaseIH 5140 Maxxum w/cab
'78 IH 686 w/M&W Turbo 106 PTO hp w/canopy
Grateful11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 12:58 PM   post #3 of 13
Tractor-Holic
10,000 +posts!

MTF Member # 8867