Farmall Super A - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Old 02-01-2010, 06:59 PM   post #1 of 12
fonz3482
Senior MTF Member

MTF Member # 33346
Help Farmall Super A

Hello everyone,
I am looking into purchasing a Farmall super A from a guy that I work with. He had it listed over summer on CL for $1500. He didnt sell it and has offered it to me for $900. Im new at the farm tractor purchasing game. I just bought a house with 2 acres and could use a machine for plowing snow, and pulling a trailer. The guy has stated to me that it does use alittle oil, and will need some gaskets, and seals that slightly leak. He says the previous owner used r.t.v. to try to fix the leaks but it still leaks alittle. Anyway, my questions are:
1- is this a good machine for the work I stated above?
2- how hard is it to find attachments for it?
3- how many horsepower is the machine
4- Is there a difference between a farmall A and a super A?
5- Are parts easily found to repair these machines and are they reasonably priced?
I offered the guy $600 for the machine, as is. He said he would think it over. If he is willing to part with it should I grab it for that price? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou!!!
fonz3482 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2010, 07:06 PM   post #2 of 12
Justin Helterbrand
Proud Member of the 1K Club

MTF Member # 22855
Garage
Default Re: Farmall Super A

If he will take $600 i would grab it while i could. My granpa bought one new in the 40's and hasent done a thing to it exept put new paint and tires on it.They are good tractors and should push snow and do odd jobs just fine.
-Murray 12/38
-Belknap Bluegrass
Justin Helterbrand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2010, 07:11 PM   post #3 of 12
P B G

MTF Member # 31016