How to secure rider/prevent theft - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
Register Home FAQ Garage MTF Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Store Chat Room

Backyard Round Table - L & G Tractor Related Topics Lawn and Garden Tractor Related Topics General Discussion Board

Old 01-06-2010, 09:00 PM   post #1 of 62
cugrad
MTF Junior Poster

MTF Member # 33601
Default How to secure rider/prevent theft

I only have a two car garage with no shed or anything like that. I am about to have another car at the house so I was considering storing my rider (a Simplicity Broadmoor) on the back porch. It would be out of the elements but I'm concerned about theft. Is there any reasonable way to secure a rider w/o being able to chain it to something permanent like a flagpole? Sorry, I'm new to riders and therefore not familiar w/ the products that are out there. My mower needs a key to start but I assume that every key is exactly the same and therefore provides no real security. Thanks.
cugrad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-06-2010, 09:04 PM   post #2 of 62
P B G
Proud Member of the 1K Club

MTF Member # 31016
Default Re: How to secure rider/prevent theft

You should do something like run a chain through a wheel and around something like the axle or the other wheel.

The thing is heavy enough that people won't just casually walk up and carry it off, so make it so it won't roll.

Another option if your porch is wood would be to put an eyebolt down through a backing plate and then you'd have a makeshift lock point.

Your right about the key, don't know if they are all exactly the same, but I bet there's only a few, and besides, I could probably hotwire your tractor in less than a minute. Its like with boats, the key is just a deterrant from petty thievery.