ss/15 transmission [Archive] - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information

: ss/15 transmission

That_Guy
03-21-2011, 05:07 PM
Hi MTF users, this may just b a simple task but its my first time doing it so i feel i shold ask first. how would i drain the transmission fluid out of my 1971 ss/15? thank you in advance.
-That Guy

GT_80
03-21-2011, 05:13 PM
there is a drain plug in the bottom of the trans- has a square head on it. Then re-install that once it's done draining, and take the left rear wheel off, there is an elbow under the fender, pull the plug out of that, and pour 5 qts of 30w non detergent in there. It will take a while :D

That_Guy
03-21-2011, 05:38 PM
ok, thank you james, sounds fun, but now that u say what type of oil i need, i told the guy at napa i needed 20wt but he sold me some other type of transmission oil, i think i might need to return it.... :thanku:

Slow Crawler
03-21-2011, 05:41 PM
30 non detergent motor oil

That_Guy
03-21-2011, 05:52 PM
so 30 non detergent motor oil for the motor or transaxle?

crashman
03-21-2011, 09:30 PM
You need 30 wt for both, the engin takes 4- pint and the trans takes 5- qt.

Jeff Kattera
03-22-2011, 11:07 AM
ive used lucas gear oil in all my rearends and nothings gone wrong? why the motor oil in the transaxle? and ive worked my transmissions at pulling events getting firewood plowing and nothings gone wrong. and the easiest way ive found is to take the whole elbow off and get the quarts with the "funnel type tip" and just queeze the bottle to force it in the rearend. i usually get done in like 5 mins. if you try the funnel way it will take hours and thats not fun. also lift up the left side so after the 5 quarts are in it wont drip or anything so theres no mess.

Tractor-Holic
03-22-2011, 11:19 AM