Craftsman tractor won't turn over - MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-21-2009, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2
Craftsman tractor won't turn over

I have a 42" Craftsman tractor with a BS 20HP engine.

I just got this tractor and the last owner was cuttin and hit a small stump an it shut the mower off instantly. There was no damage to the blade shafts or anything like that but the mower will not start now unless I junp a wire from the starter to the positive on the battery.

Fuse is good. Is it the curcuit breaker or is there another fuse that I am missing?

Thanks
ddove1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-21-2009, 12:47 AM
The Magnificent
 
D-Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 20,952
Images: 2
Garage
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

I wonder if he damaged the safety interlock switch for the deck, and you are effectively bypassing it with your jumper wire. The PTO switch is off, btw?

D-Dogg is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-21-2009, 03:15 AM
2000 Posts and climbing!!!
 
walter g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 2,312
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

If he hit the stump hard enough, he might of bounced on the seat hard enough to break the seat safety switch.

They are pretty easy to break. Ask me how I know.

Walter
walter g is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-21-2009, 08:57 AM
Senior MTF Member
 
grapeknutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Athens GA and EX Craftsman salesman
Posts: 384
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

A common problem on Craftsman riding mowers are the starter solenoid going bad. If you dont hear a "click" when you try to start the engine it will be the solenoid thats bad.

2013 Ariens 20 Hp lawn tractor
Craftsman yard tools
1992 LT1 Corvette
2013 Kia rio
grapeknutz is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-22-2009, 03:15 AM
4K Poster!!!
 
Fcubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 4,190
Images: 5
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

Quote:
Originally Posted by walter g View Post
If he hit the stump hard enough, he might of bounced on the seat hard enough to break the seat safety switch.

They are pretty easy to break. Ask me how I know.

Walter
Okay, I'll bite - how do you know?

Remember, I'm pullin' for ya! We're all in this together!
(Red Green)

Living in The Land Of The Free - because of The Brave!

2006 Conquest, 54" deck, Vanguard engine
Fcubman is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-22-2009, 03:56 AM
2000 Posts and climbing!!!
 
walter g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 2,312
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

I have a property I mow. I was unloading the tractor off of the trailer,and I pushed my Craftsman down the trailer gate. Well it rolled a few feet and hit the only hole on the entire property.

Seat only bounced once, but it broke the safety switch.

Not one single piece of wire to be had. I had to load it by hand and come back another day to mow. 18 mile trip each way wasted.

I now keep a roll of wire in my van, and a premaid jumper wire just in case.
walter g is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-22-2009, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
MTF Junior Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

Thank you all for your input. I will try to get a starter solenoid. It runs and cuts great. I just get tired of jumping it started with a wire.

Thank you ALL...
ddove1972 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-22-2009, 04:42 PM
Slightly Autistic
 
Bill Kapaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orygun
Posts: 5,164
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

It's helpful if you identify the tractor with the Sears 917.xxxxxx number. That way one can possibly look at the proper schematic.

That said, your starter circuit generally goes through the clutch/brake switch and then the attachment switch if no electric PTO, or through the PTO switch and then the B/C switch IF equipped with an electric PTO.

It usually has WHITE wires.

My guess is that the attachment switch got knocked out of position/broken when the deck "jumped" when hitting the stump.
Bill Kapaun is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-23-2009, 02:16 AM
4K Poster!!!
 
Fcubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 4,190
Images: 5
Re: Craftsman tractor won't turn over

Walter G - I thought we were going to hear about a "wide load" story breaking the switch
I hate when that happens - you're off somewhere to do a job, and you lack something simple to get the job done

Remember, I'm pullin' for ya! We're all in this together!
(Red Green)

Living in The Land Of The Free - because of The Brave!

2006 Conquest, 54" deck, Vanguard engine
Fcubman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the MyTractorForum.com - The Friendliest Tractor Forum and Best Place for Tractor Information forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome